Tuesday, 30 January 2018

Howard Linskey- "The Chosen Ones" @HowardLinskey

Today we chatted to local author Howard Linskey about his upcoming crime novel 'The Chosen Ones', which is being released in June and is the fourth book in the 'DS Bradshaw series.'  This series follows DS Bradshaw, a detective, and two investigative journalists who investigate the same crimes from different perspectives and collaborate to solve the crimes.  The novels are set in the '90s in North Eastern England, because Howard himself worked as a journalist in Northern England in the '90s.  Setting his novels in the '90s also means that he can use more plot devices: the lack of technology means that it is harder to trace criminals, due to the lack of CCTV and phone tracking. 

Howard also told us that writing novels with recurring characters can be a double edged sword: on the one hand the author knows the characters very well, but on the other hand it is very easy to include details contradicting things in previous books. 

Howard has published 7 books in total, and 'The Chosen Ones' will be his 8th.  In addition to crime novels, he has also written WW2 historical fiction. Howard also recently appeared on CBS' series 'Written in Blood', about crime writers who base crimes in their novels on real life cases and criminals.  On this show Howard talked about how he based the psyche of one of his villains on the notorious moors murderer Ian Brady.

"The Chosen Ones" is about a series of unlinked women who disappear with no reason.  It will be available for preorder in June!   He has just started the 5th book in this series, which is scheduled for release in 2019.  All Howard's books are also available as audiobooks. 

Howard's Twitter
Howard's Website

No comments:

Post a Comment